Wheel

I am driving.
And I am driving.
And driving I am
Singing.
Windows let in
Honey-sweet
Wildflower ditch,
Green corn low
And burning eyes
That look upon
Bone medicine.
Drink it up now.

I am driving.
And I am driving.
And driving I am
Haunted.
Tracks cut through
Grassy medians
Leading to…
(Black etchings
On gray pavement
Have nothing to do with now.
Not now.)

I am driving.
And I am driving.
And driving I am
Dreaming.
All those highways,
Homes.
Wishing I had not
Lost the map.
The misplaced compass,
The calling of wind.
We wind
Our way
Back to…

I am driving.
And I am driving.
And driving I am
Looking behind.
Something is coming up
Quick,
Overtaking,
Fades to future.
And I am overtaking,
Too.
And suspended.
We are suspended in…

I am driving.
And I am driving.
And driving I am
Dancing
Waltz the miles,
Lilting time.
Do not pass.
Do not pass.
To yield,
Surrender,
And follow those tracks
Back to…

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.

One response to “Wheel”

Leave a Reply

