Dark Moon

So sick of older and wiser,
Life loves these,
At least a little,
But in dreams
They taunt and tease.
So brew a good poison,
Then, sad, stubborn and fickle,
Drain the cup.

So sick of older and wiser,
Expected them to see,
But of course their beautiful words
Could never be earned,
At least by me.
If I didn’t know better,
I’d make a flesh offering,
Growing reckless
In the sultry blue-room night.

So sick of older and wiser,
Replaced the lover with the mother,
Selfless for selfish.
Filled the basket with —
One hundred purple grapes
And ripe black cherries,
Five and twenty blackbirds
On a wire,
Desiccated butterfly wings,
Old coyote teeth,
Sweet-cream milk
And a pillow for your head.

So sick of older and wiser,
Await the monthly meetings
With more meaning
Than you could know.
Contriving closer —
And damning every turning
Of the well-traveled road.

If I were no older,
Nor wiser,
I would stumble to the doorstep
In a moonshine midnight masquerade,
Make my confessions to the clock
And tell you all about
How you’ve knocked me back
On my heels.

So sick of older and wiser,
The reasons and the rathers,
We shatter lonely glasses
On the stones.
Then huddle under blankets
Deep and silent in the falling
And try again to sleep
Despite the taunting
And the teasing in the bones.

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.

12 responses to “Dark Moon”

  1. manicddaily says :

    This is really lovely, Emily. Mysterious, real, evocative, wise, sensual, sad. (I say, wise, despite the dispelling of wiser–maybe the problem with wiser is the “er”.

    Thanks for giving me the link. K.

  2. kshawnedgar says :

    Ageless and wise(er) :}

  3. C.L. Sostarich says :

    The tone matched the message of your poem amazingly well. The repetition of ‘so sick of older and wiser’ really works. Nicely done!

  4. brian says :

    nice…that stanza on the 4 and 20 blackbirds is fascinating in and of itself…great word play…and i like the end as well…now get some sleep…smiles.

  5. Lori McClure (@lorimcspeaks) says :

    Oh, I like this very much. Saying one is older and wiser unfortunately does not make it so. I really like that ending stanza, but each one has something that stands out in a fantastic way. Well done!

  6. Sheila Moore says :

    this is magnificently written. i am definitely in the midst of stanza three in my life right now….and I’m not getting any younger 😉

  7. claudia says :

    oh i fell in love with..
    Filled the basket with –
    One hundred purple grapes
    And ripe black cherries,
    Five and twenty blackbirds
    On a wire,
    Desiccated butterfly wings,
    Old coyote teeth,
    Sweet-cream milk
    And a pillow for your head…. such great images emily..

  8. kamana says :

    older is definitely not wiser. loved this

  9. ayala says :

    I loved this…older not wiser ….

  10. expatinCAT says :

    Powerful writing here…plenty of feeling. Like it. // Peter.

  11. The Orange Tree says :

    some truth spoken here,

    a honest and lovely piece.

  12. liv2write2day says :

    As one who is (supposedly) older and wiser…this one just screamed “I get it…” to me. Fantastic. Also love the stanza Claudia quoted.

Leave a Reply

