Glimpses

I could smell four seasons full
As the code spiraled outward
And a cloud perched
On shifting air.
The high sky reflected
In the marsh –
Color so pure
That mere blue
Cannot suffice.
(It is beyond my power
To convey.)
But for bare branches,
Old leaves,
All the dry and decayed,
You might never guess
At November’s waning.

Hadn’t noticed the wind
Until I stood there in it,
Wondering why the water
Was in such a hurry,
And where it was going
Anyway.
Still uplifted,
I’m riding high on these moments –
That permission to eavesdrop
On grander schemes.
I know,
Like the water,
I too will eventually
Bump up against the banks.
But today even this
Only serves to sweeten.

What is this that contains us?
And where are its limits?
Blackbirds flash red wing
On a flyover.
A lone frog sings from the reeds
To two chickadees,
Curiouser than me.
I climb onto these sights and sounds –
Ride the ever-expanding outward.
We injured, struggling things
Watch each other
As sirens sound an alarm.
Coyote ducks for cover,
But I can feel his eyes
Weighing the effort against the flesh.
And we each think –
If only we were more –
Before being taken back in
By subtle magics.

The canvas sleeps
Under wary shroud,
But she shows me
Colors collected on a palette.
It would take a great uprising
Into the blue forever
To catch her full intent.
And even though
The mind plays tricks –
We are still just smallish,
Furry things.
Though we are few,
We are still here.
We must settle for these moments –
Postage-stamp snapshots
Of the progressing masterpiece –
And sometimes,
If we are lucky,
We get to belong to it, too.

Shared for Open Link Night over at the dVerse Poets Pub. 

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.

14 responses to “Glimpses”

  1. Kellie Elmore says :

    I cannot even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this. Your use of poetic device is just intriguing! I love your play with imagery in your words. The way you implant an image with your unique description is amazing! I wish I had your ability to do that, truly. Such a pleasure!

    Kellie

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/the-widow/

  2. hedgewitch says :

    Very layered, with a sense of magic and intimacy with nature, of the innate rightness of all the process of nature, whether understood or even seen by an often outsider who only sometimes partakes in full. Enjoyed this much.

  3. Pat Hatt says :

    Truly wonderfully written, the imagery and senses you convey throughout was just brilliantly done, great piece.

  4. claudia says :

    Postage-stamp snapshots
    Of the progressing masterpiece –
    And sometimes,
    If we are lucky,
    We get to belong to it, too…what a great closure to a poem which took me into a certain kind of intimacy with the movement and questions and feelings…sensitively crafted emily..enjoyed it much

  5. wolfsrosebud says :

    I liked the line of not noticing the wind until you stood there… isn’t much about life like that… walking in someone’s shoes and all

  6. brian miller says :

    love this…i am a nature lover and you put me right in it, really well penned piece…oh i wan tmore than glimpses…i want to be in it…Postage-stamp snapshots
    Of the progressing masterpiece –yes put me in it…smiles. love the questions in the center of this as well…

  7. Mohana says :

    Enjoyed much. Some excellent phrasing, lovely write.

  8. Shashi (@VerseEveryDay) says :

    Oh this is a beautiful verse… and your profound questions can and will get answered in the nature that you have embarked upon…

    What is this that contains us?
    And where are its limits?

    your last lines were perfect… Thanks for sharing…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-where-you-will-go.html

  9. Gay Reiser Cannon says :

    With nature as your backdrop, you ask the eternal questions. This route shapes your poetry, your philosophy, your life. Well done.

  10. Rosemary Nissen-Wade aka SnakyPoet says :

    I particularly like the third verse with its tight writing.

  11. ayala says :

    A wonderful write.

  12. Steve E says :

    Believe this:
    I talk to grass and trees
    to flowers, seas,
    and ask the questions…

    Peeps laugh, I feel stupid.

    Then I read you:

    “I’m riding high on these moments –
    That permission to eavesdrop
    On grander schemes.”

    And…if I could write, I would have written
    long before you were born, the following:

    “Hadn’t noticed the wind
    Until I stood there in it,
    Wondering why the water
    Was in such a hurry,
    And where it was going…”

    PEACE! (And THANK YOU!)

  13. Brendan says :

    There is such unabashed wonder here, like a child on swing hurling through the world. Very nice stuff. – Brendan

  14. Poets Rally says :

    this is beautiful.
    :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

